Jake\’s Top 5 Favorite Horror Films of 2017

2017 is gone, 2018 is here, and now we have a whole new year for new films to come out. I\’m not going to lie, choosing these films was tough, and this might be my most \”beta\” list yet. Beta, for the fact The Repugnant Playhouse prides itself on searching for some of the nastiest films the world has to offer. But these five films really stuck out for me this year, and if you haven\’t seen them yet, I suggest you do. Here is my top 5 favorite horror films of 2017.

5. The Void (released April 7th, 2017)

\”Shortly after delivering a patient to an understaffed hospital, a police officer experiences strange and violent occurrences seemingly linked to a group of mysterious hooded figures.\”

I felt that The Void was almost a love letter to H.P. Lovecraft and John Carpenter. With its incredible monster effects and gore, mixed with deep chair-gripping tension throughout, this was the sci-fi/horror of the year, and I consider it to be a modern gem. Hell hasn\’t been this fun since Devil\’s Rain!

4. The Devils Candy (released March 17th, 2017)

\”A struggling painter is possessed by satanic forces after he and his young family move into their dream home in rural Texas, in this creepy haunted-house tale.\”

I had so much fun watching this. Between the stellar cast and character connections, the fucking kick-ass soundtrack, and the dread filled atmosphere of the whole film absolutely won me over. Ethan Embry was just incredible as the struggling father figure trying to overcome the evil of that house. Another modern gem in my opinion, and I\’ll definitely be picking up the soundtrack soon. If you\’re into metal and Satan, this is the movie for you.

3. Get Out (released February 24th, 2017)

\”It\’s time for a young African-American to meet with his white girlfriend\’s parents for a weekend in their secluded estate in the woods, but before long, the friendly and polite ambience will give way to a nightmare.\”

It\’s not often you watch a horror film that touches on big social issues such as racism and inequality, but Jordan Peele grabbed these issues by the balls and made you uncomfortable right from the beginning. Get Out made me cringe, especially with a lot of the dialogue with what I call \”grandma-racism\”. It was subtle, but you know how awkward the whole situation is, especially if you look at it from a black perspective. It\’s a solid fucking movie, and it keeps you on your toes throughout the entire film. Not only is it one of the best horror films of the year, it\’s definitely one of the best films of the year.

2. The Autopsy of Jane Doe (released June 27th, 2017)

\”A father and son, both coroners, are pulled into a complex mystery while attempting to identify the body of a young woman, who was apparently harboring dark secrets.\”

Brutal body horror at its finest, The Autopsy of Jane Doe delivered in scares, atmosphere, and superb acting. From the moment you see the corpse of Jane Doe, you know there is something horribly wrong and you know you wouldn\’t be caught dead standing in the same room as her. It\’s unnerving through out, and it\’s one of the scariest films I\’ve seen in years. Even down to the minor details of the morgue and forensic investigating, it just seemed so real. You need to see this if you haven\’t. I know you\’ll love it.

1. RAW (released March 15th, 2017)

\”When a young vegetarian undergoes a carnivorous hazing ritual at vet school, an unbidden taste for meat begins to grow in her.\”

This movie was phenomenal. My main reason to even watching this was that it made people physically ill when they saw this at the Gothenburg Film Festival, and even though I didn\’t get sick watching it, the film is full of disturbing material. Visually it reminded me of Susperia, with some of the best color direction I\’ve seen in awhile. My eyes were just glued the entire time. Between a superb performance from actress Garance Marillier, the phenomenal direction by Julia Ducournau, and just the surreal visual experience as a whole, it\’s perfect. Writing about it for a second time on this blog, I consider it to be the best horror film of the year. A modern masterpiece in my honest opinion.

Leave a comment